woven stool tutorial

woven-stool-blog-image

dscf7046

dscf7050

The first picture aboveΒ is of an old stool my grandma gave me when she moved out of her house. As you can see, it needed a bit of work, but it was a solid stool, and I loved the dark oak colour. I also had a similar stool that I’d bought at a junk shop years before and it was looking a bit tired. So the idea for the project was born! I’d been working on a raffia weaving project so I’d seen all the amazing colours you can get of this Nutscene twine, it even comes in neon!?! so I thought I’d try that as the material I used for weaving the stool.

So, I looked on Pinterest and I couldn’t find a tutorial for how to do this, I know?! Not on Pinterest? So, I had to make it up! I’m doing two more of these for my sister to give as a present so I may update my method, but this way works just fine and I’ve had mine for about a year now and they are sturdy as anything.

You will need:

One old stool

2 x 110 metre spools of twine

A large weaving needle or dolls needle

Sandpaper

Scissors

Remove the old strings from your stool and prepare the wood as you wish. I gave mine a light sand but you could paint or strip the stool depending on it’s condition. It’ll probably need a good clean too, I think i washed away about 40 years of dust!

Take your ball of twine and tie the end to one corner of the stool. It doesn’t matter which corner you start at. Don’t worry about the loose end, you’ll tuck this inside the stool later on. Creating this first base layer of weaving is the easiest as you just keep wrapping the twine over the the stool until you have covered the whole of the stool seat.

Just keep passing the ball of twine over and under the stool, being careful to keep the strings tight and neat along the edges of the stool. If you finish a ball of twine just tie on a new ball with a knot, making sure the knot sits on the underside of the stool. When you have finished, wrap the loose end around the corner of the stool to secure it and tie a knot with one of the lengths of string you have woven over the stool.

step-4

You are now ready to weave the top layer. You’ll need to measure how wide you want your strips to be. I have done some chunky weaves and some more delicate. You can either roughly measure how wide you want your strips to be and mark along the stool with a pencil, or you can count the amount of strings you’ll need for each strip and measure it this way. For example if your stool is 40cm long and you want 10cm strips, count how many strings make up a 10cm strip, then repeat this.

Secure your twine just as before but this time, as we are going to be weaving in and out of the twine, you will need to cut a smaller length of twine to use, as opposed to using it straight from the roll. This is so you can get it to fit in between the already woven strings.

Using your needle, start to weave your length of twine under and over your existing strings. This stage takes a little longer than the first, but just keep weaving over and under in your chosen pattern; Β keeping the twine tight and neat at the edges as before. When you run out of twine, attach it as before using a knot that sits on the underside of the stool. These will be tidied up at the end.

step-9step-10step-11

The weave gets progressively tighter as you add more strings, so don’t be surprised if towards the last stage it gets a little harder to pass through the needle. When you have finished, tie a knot in the corner as before. Now neaten up the bottom of the stool by tucking the edges inside the stool where you wont’ see them. And you’re done! I finished a stool in an evening, just sat in the lounge watching tv, it was quite relaxing! I love how these stools add a pop of colour to our lounge and we use them all the time. The kids use them for playing and jumping off (!) , they are just generally a cool, upcycle to have around the house! This project originally featured in the lovely Reloved magazine.

Leave a Reply

